Linked In

Get a 360-degree view of the CERA credential.

Get the Fact Sheet now.

Non-SOA Member Exam Process

The CERA Credential for Non-SOA Members

Credentialed actuaries from actuarial organizations with a Mutual Recognition Agreement with the SOA

Credentialed actuaries from these organizations interested in obtaining the CERA credential will first need to apply to the SOA for membership under the relevant Mutual Recognition Agreement.

If SOA membership is granted, these individuals can begin the required the examination process. The examination requirements for each individual will vary on a case-by-case basis. The SOA's Registrar and Senior Analyst, , can answer questions about any particular situation.

Credentialed actuaries from actuarial organizations without a Mutual Recognition Agreement with the SOA

Currently, these individuals will need to earn the CERA credential through the required examination process.

The CERA Credential for Fellows of the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS)

An FCAS can apply to receive a waiver for all of the preliminary exams and VEE requirements. In some instances, FCAS holders may already have this credit on the basis of the exams they have passed. Individuals should contact our Registrar and Senior Analyst, , for additional information.

The Professionalism course requirement would also be waived for FCAS holders if they attended a comparable CAS program.